Glowing Fruit

December 1, 2009 at 7:40 pm (Camera Gear, Food, Penticton)

I’ve been down in Penticton for almost a week now, so I am definitely settling in. The ‘vacation’ new home allure is starting to wear off however, and I am going to have to start accomplishing something soon. Time to go see about getting my license upgraded. Yes, for those who don’t know, that’s the plan … go get a class 1 license with air brakes, and start driving the big rigs. Maybe get a new laptop (my current laptop that I never use is quite old now), pack the camera gear, and start seeing the country. Turn this space into a ‘on the road from the cab of a truck’ photo blog. For a few years anyway.

Wandered down to Safeway last night for some grocery shopping and brought my camera with me. Despite some odd looks from fellow shoppers, the staff left me to do my thing, and I got some nice produce shots. Used the Nikkor 35mm f/1.8, a lens which I love more and more every time I use it. Sharp as a blade, and fast enough to use handheld at night on the streets. I want to get the 50mm f/1.4 just to see if it is that much better at handhelds, though that’s a $500 what if…

Weather is pretty beautiful right now. Nice bright sun. I think I am going to wander downtown this afternoon, and see what I can see. Go visit my old haunts. I’ve not really explored downtown since I’ve been back. I already know it’s just going to be the same old…

Leave a Reply

