365:2010 Week One

January 9, 2010 at 10:07 am (365 Project, Photography) (, , , , , , , , , )

So I started a 365 project on New Years Day, and I have just completed week one. It is pretty easy for me right now because I am not working. I can take the time to pretty much go anywhere, and get a decent shot. I suspect it will be much more difficult once I start working, and get home tired at the end of the day. We shall see. I want to say hello and thanks to all the folks over at Flickr who view, fave, and comment on my pictures. It is very much appreciated and keeps me going. I specifically want to say thanks to all the folks in both the Okanagan 365 and 365: the 2010 edition group pools over at Flickr. These people are the best!

I didn’t really give myself a theme, or some sort of other restraint (self portrait a day, urg, you must be a masochist!) however, I did make a rule that every shot must be co-titled with a book I’ve read (sometimes they fit, sometimes not) and every shot must be composed and uploaded in 16×9 aspect ratio with letterboxing. The idea was to give the shots a more ‘cinematic’ feel. You can be the judge of whether or not I have accomplished that.

Anyway, on with the pictures. Here’s what I managed to get during week one.

January 1, 2010

365::1 - Great Expectations

Summerland

January 2, 2010

365::2 - Decline and Fall

Kaleden

January 3, 2010

365::3 - Fear of Flying

Penticton

January 4, 2010

365::4 - Snow Falling on Cedars

Okanagan Falls

January 5, 2010

365::5 - A Room With a View

Summerland

January 6, 2010

365::6 - The Blind Assassin

Penticton

January 7, 2010

365::7 - A Natural History of the Senses

Kelowna

That’s it for now. See you in a week, or sooner if I actually get around to writing a few more ‘proper’ entries in this blog…

2 Comments

  1. Lynda said,

    You produce such amazingly consistent work! Probably helps to live in such a beautiful place.

    • Darren said,

      Thank you! I am sure it doesn’t hurt, but I just moved here from Edmonton, a place no one will ever call ‘beautiful’, and I did all right:



Leave a Reply

