Sharon Amos Legacy Fashion Show

May 5, 2010 at 4:22 pm (Penticton, Photography, Strobist) (, , , , , , )

Colleen Bachmann strikes a pose

Well, had a pretty cool opportunity to shoot a fashion show from the ‘paparazzi pit’ at the end of the runway. Andrea Hill, owner of Luminus Beauty Bar and Fashion Boutique organized a fashion show at the Grand Ballroom of the Penticton Lakeside Resort to benefit the Sharon Amos Legacy Fund for the Arts. She was kind enough to invite all of us from the Penticton Photography Club down to populate the media pit and try our hands at some glamour photography.

A model and model silhouettes during the 'Paris Gone Mad' set.

The show was called ‘A Sequence of Fashionable Events’ and was divided into three sets with a ‘fashion break’ between each. The first set was titled ‘Paris Gone Mad’ and featured all the models posing with various colourful parasols. Not a fashion expert, but I would describe the clothing as being somewhat dress-casual. It was definitely funky and eclectic. The second set was ‘Beach Blanket’ Beauties’ which was of course swimwear. The third set was my favorite. Titled ‘Return of the Glamazon’, it featured a very well choreographed sequence of poses with each model freezing in place until the next model came along to free them. Hard to explain I guess, but it was very cool.

First time shooting at this sort of event for me, so it was something of a learning experience. Ended up using just the 50mm 1.8 and the SB-600 for the whole show.

One of the poses from the third set, 'Return of the Glamazon'.

Sadly I don’t know any of the model’s names, except for the model in the top picture who identified herself as Colleen Bachmann on her images flickr page. I do, however, want to say that they all rocked, and put on a great show. So thanks very much to Andrea Hill, all the models, and everybody else responsible for this great event!

See the rest of the set (36 photos) at my Sharon Amos Legacy Fashion Show set on flickr.

3 Comments

  1. Julie-Anna Martin said,

    Hello! I am the model in the black and white photograph from the Sharon Amos fashion show. I was gobsmacked. I would love to purchase it from you as I cannot believe that it is me and how brilliant all of your shots are. Please let me know how we can get in touch.

    • Darren said,

      Hi Julie-Anna, and thanks for the kind words. Please send me an email directly to bulliver@gmail.com.

      • Darren said,

        Ah, nevermind, I see your email address here in my comment notification. I am just heading out the door, but I will respond to you tonight.

Leave a Reply

